• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

why is morrowind so special ?

samoilaaa

Skyrim sold the most of all the elder scrolls games but whenever there is talk about the best elder scrolls morrowind is the winner

ive been gaming for over 20 years but i never played morrowind , can you tell me why is it considered the best ?

Is it the game mechanics ? story ? it cant be graphics because it looks like crap

It's the last Bethesda game with good writing. My theory has always been that switching to fully voiced in Oblivion made the dialogues go to shit. It essentially put a price on every line of text and gives the developers an incentive to give the player fewer dialogue options and make NPCs talk less in general.

Oh, and it's also the last game to be made primarily for PC. Yeah, I know it released on Xbox, but they clearly designed the PC version first and then figured out a way to make it playable on a console. With later releases it's generally the other way around.

Last edited:
Mechanics, atmosphere, and definitely at the time the open ended nature despite being a downsizing in pure square mileage from Daggerfall. I still really enjoy playing it, I did a playthrough just last year with OpenMW to take advantage of better resolutions but I don't even play it with mods. I like it just as it is. Spell crafting, the lore, the environment itself. I even like the combat as basic as it is, I don't mind hit chance at all, in a way better than the basically guaranteed to hit sponges of Oblivion and later.

The amount of dialogue is awesome, some of the quest lines interweave to an extent, great stuff to find everywhere with very little handholding to be found.

Last edited:

mdkirby