• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Ni no Kuni : I need some help with some stuff

Stafford

So I’ve started with NNK earlier this week and I have 9 hours into it now. Location is the desert. I noticed early on how easily I died and I don’t know, I just don’t have the patience nowadays anymore and so I have no problem putting difficulty at easy and still on easy I find it not easy at all, lmao.

I am not new to JRPGs, but I am pretty new to combat systems like this. As in menu based. Earlier on in the game I was told that monsters have weakness, the signs show it. But during combat, can I check on the fly what weakness the current enemies have? Also, I often am not sure whether to use Oliver or the girl, or the familiars, and the type of familiar. I noticed how incredibly fast Sid gets killed, it’s crazy.

Also, in real-time combat I defend when I see enemies attack, but in turn-based or menu based combat like this I am not entirely sure when I should defend and thus I pretty much always go for attack and only defend during boss fights when they are about to go mental. I also noticed that the game doesn’t tell you if a certain quest/enemy is too high level for you. For example there is this bounty hunt enemy and it’s insane the amount of damage he did to Oliver and everyone.

There is a lot to take in too. I just had the game telling me that when you swap around familiars, to bear in mind that each ally is better suited to handling creatures of certain genuses.

And I’m like…what?i do want to learn this stuff though because if I’m gonna continue on with this I probably will need it, since the story is up to 40 hours according to HLTB.

I hope I will not drop this game, so far so good. My friend however did drop the game, he told me about a wolf boss in a ice area and he was not able to kill it. But, we’ll see