• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.
  • The Politics forum has been nuked. Please do not bring political discussion to the rest of the site, or you will be removed. Thanks.

Fighting Tournament Weekend: EGX,

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920
EGX 2016 at The NEC in Birmingham, United Kingdom. 2016 Capcom Pro Tour Global Premier Event.



EGX 2016 is the Eurogamer Expo that is designed to be a convention for all sorts of video games. At EGX, is the UK's Capcom Pro Tour Premier tournament (Hosted by Unequaled Media) where 256 of the best players Europe and internationals have to offer in order to grab a coveted Capcom Cup spot. (WHICH BY THE WAY STILL HAVEN'T BEEN REVEALED).

Streams:

https://www.twitch.tv/capcomfighters

Schedule:


Follow: Official info: http://unqualledmedia.com/egx | @UnequalledMedia | @EGX

Brackets: http://egx.challonge.com/EGX_CPT_2016

From SRK: Notables in each pool, plus internationals traveling to Europe.



https://twitter.com/SRKRanking/status/778968358800789504

--------

VSL The Fist Season 2


After a very successful Season 1, newly popular sponsored Korean Tekken web series VSL The Fist: Tekken 7FR will kick off Season 2 on September 24. The broadcast schedule is as follows:

September 24 @ 1pm KST (9pm PDT/12am EDT)
October 1 @ 1pm KST (9pm PDT/12am EDT)
October 8 @ 1pm KST (9pm PDT/12am EDT)
October 15 @ 1pm KST (9pm PDT/12am EDT)
All shows will be streamed live on Twitch at twitch.tv/vsl_thefist.

Qualifying Players
Qualifiers for Season 2 took place today (videos below), with 16 players coming out on top. They are as follows:

Group A

Kkokkoma (Kazumi, Katarina, Josie)
Real Grasshopper (Xiaoyu)
Jeondding (Lucky Chloe)
Kajek (Jin, Heihachi, Lars, Shaheen)
Group B

Standby (Feng)
Isaac (Marshall Law)
Jeff Hardy (King)
JDCR (Heihachi)
Group C

Puri Jumu (Lili, King)
MBC (King, Bob)
Guy King (Akuma)
Al Zzang (Akum)
Group D

Malgu (Marshall Law)
Knee
Chanel (Alisa)
Narakhof (Claudio)
---------

Blazblue National 4on4 Team Tournament Qualifiers in the Tohoku region at Taito Station: Sendai will be on 9/24, 18:00 JST.

A lot of players will compete, lot of Litchi in that area.

Will update with a stream link when it is available.


---------

Never Give Up (Capcom Pro Tour Ranking Event)


Stream:

https://www.twitch.tv/f2gcl
https://www.twitch.tv/combobreakercl
Schedule:



Bracket: http://ngu2016.challonge.com/

Notable players in SFV:



-----------

2GGT: Abadango Saga (Smash 4 only event)


Stream:
https://www.twitch.tv/2ggaming
https://www.twitch.tv/fadgames

Schedules:
Sat, September 24, 10am PDT/1pm EDT– Sun, September 25, 10pm PDT/2am EDT

Notables: Socal Smash 4 scene + Abadango and Komorikiri

-----------

Wizard World Gaming at the Austin Convention Center in Austin, Texas.


Schedule: Fri, September 23, 1pm(PDT)/4pm(EDT) – Sun, September 25, 2pm(PDT)/5pm(EDT)

Main Stream:
https://www.twitch.tv/wizardworldgaming

Games:
Street Fighter V ($3000 prize pool)
Tekken 7 Fated Retribution ($3000 prize pool)
Naruto UNS4 ($1000 prize pool)
-----------

Red Bull Proving Grounds: SouthEast Battles - Round 4 at WaBa Replay in Duluth, Georgia. Red Bull Proving Grounds qualifier.



Stream: https://www.twitch.tv/funkyp

Schedule: Sat, September 24, 11:00am - 4:30pm (PDT)/2:00pm – 7:30pm (EDT)

Mix-up Monthly #4 at Ignite Gaming Lounge in Chicago, Illinois. Red Bull Proving Grounds qualifier.

Stream: https://www.twitch.tv/bgcallisto

Schedule: Schedule: Sat, September 24, 11:00am - 6:00pm (PDT)/2:00pm – 9:00pm (EDT)

Red Bull Proving Grounds Online #2

Main Stream:
https://www.twitch.tv/redbullesports

Schedule: Tue, September 27, 6:30pm (PDT)/9:30pm(EDT) – Wed, September 28, 09:30pm (PDT)/12:30am (EDT)

-------
Bud Light All-Stars Fchamp vs SHAQ


Main Stream:
https://www.twitch.tv/budlight

Schedule: Tue, September 27, 7pm(PDT)/10pm(EDT) – Wed, September 28, 10pm (PDT)/1am (EDT)


--------


Note: If you have an interest in discussing the Fighting Game Community, consider joining the Fighting Game Community thread where we try to talk about what is happening in the FGC.

As always, if you see an infographic for a FGC tournament, it was likely made by acekingoffsuit. The guy makes stream schedules for every major tournament and he does it for free. You can find his twitter account here: https://twitter.com/acekingoffsuit

Also, Malice215's Stream schedule was used to help get more information on tournaments. Malice215 (also a gaffer) spends much of his free time maintaining the stream schedule Malice215's twitter for is https://twitter.com/stsched
 

Shun

Member
Nov 30, 2013
7,004
0
0
Berkeley
Blazblue National 4on4 Team Tournament Qualifiers in the Tohoku and Tokai region at Taito Station Sendai and Port24 Sendai will be on 9/24, 18:00 JST.

A lot of players will compete, lot of Litchi in that area.

Will update with a stream link when it is available.


 

Rice-Eater

Member
Aug 10, 2006
13,969
0
1,180
He won CEO so he's already qualified for CapCup. You'd think he'd be going for that 15k pot bonus at EGX since he doesn't need points.

I'm aware of that, but from the looks of it ever regional final has a 15k pot bonus just like a Premier tournament. If he wins the ranking event his biggest threats at the Regional Finals will be Justin and Chris T I guess. The comp at EGX isn't that strong though so he would have had a good chance at winning that had he gone. But maybe he already planned this far in advance.
 

pixelish

Member
Apr 30, 2013
4,557
0
0
tokido was invited to the chile cpt event. and i think the Japanese players have made a gentlemen's agreement to not compete in a premier event if you've already qualified.
 

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920
Added Shun's info about the Blazblue National 4on4 Team Tournament Qualifiers in the Tohoku region at Taito Station. Also, what the fuck is your avatar, Shun?
 

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920
EGX pools today went as expected, everyone you'd think would win their pool did.

On that note:

Pool winners @ #CPT2016 #EGX2016

@GamerBeeTW
@DopeBoyPackz
@RyanJosephHart
@MistahCrimson
@ImstillDadaddy
@Louffy086
@nuki2
@katitagaribon

https://twitter.com/acekingoffsuit/status/779371566652071936

User Actions
Following

AceKingOffsuit
‏@acekingoffsuit
Advanced top #EGX2016 #CPT2016 Top 32 in losers':

@JoKeR_JoKeZ
Gunslinga
@Afii_
KNX
Kilmor
Afzal
@infexiousdc
@Hurricane237

https://twitter.com/acekingoffsuit/status/779373789142478848
 

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920
Top 32 at EGX (Not head to head, final bracket hasn't been made yet)

Format:

Group letter: Winners, Losers

Group A: Zowie|Gamerbee, JoKeR JoKeZ
Group B: PRLS|Packz, HF UM|Gunsling
Group C: Ryan Hart, PRLS|Alfi
Group D: MD|Mister Crimson, ED|KNX
Group E: HF UM|ImStillDaDaddy, Kilmor
Group F: RedBull Luffy, MBA|Afzal
Group G: CBZ|Onuki, Rize|Infexious
Group H: Redbull Bonchan, HF UM|Hurricane
Group I: PXP Problem X, RSZ|Akram VVV
Group J: Will2Pac, HF UM|RMZ
Group K: BST|Daigo Umehara, Apollo Seed
Group L: BX3.TP-Link|Phenom, Ginodacampo
Group M: UM|Tyrant, LOM|J.Miller
Group N: Redbull Snakeyes, Vzurk
Group O: Cain Masters, Koeji
Group P: GENESIX, RIZE|Cobelcog

First time I think that all Redbull sponsored players actually made it though pools in a tournament? (Luffy, Bonchan, Snakeyes, Daigo).
 

Tripon

Member
May 24, 2013
23,025
0
920
Daigo has done well vs Luffy, but it's still Mika. Scared for my boy.
Just checked, they switched to have a straight 32 man bracket with nobody losers bracket. Uh... I really hope they didn't use the pools to determine seeding for winners and losers.

 

Hyun Sai

Member
Jan 9, 2012
7,834
1
0
Will2Pac just 2-0 Nuki's Chun Li.

Like they said on stream, don't come in Europe not knowing the Laura matchup !