• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Should you get Puyo Puyo Champions or Puyo Puyo Tetris?

DunDunDunpachi

Patient MembeR
I couldn't pass up the chance to stan for Puyo! The article covers the question in the title: if you want to get into Puyo, should you get Puyo Puyo Tetris or opt for the new Puyo Puyo Champions?

I am new to Puyo Puyo.
Guess what? You should be playing Puyo Puyo Tetris! Part of this is because of the combination of Puyo Puyo and Tetris. Even if you aren’t familiar with the one puzzle game, odds are you know how the other one goes. You’re halfway to victory if you do!
Also, Puyo Puyo Tetris is very user-friendly. The campaign basically teaches you how to play both puzzle games. Its missions gradually increase in difficulty and feel designed to familiarize you with Puyo Puyo‘s mechanics.
It is especially a good place to start due to the demo. If someone has a Nintendo Switch, they can grab a free trial. It is a great way to get your feet wet.
I love puzzle games and silliness.
Puyo Puyo Tetris has the best story mode. I’m not exaggerating. It is hilarious. People on a Tetris-themed spaceship come to the Puyo Puyo world, with tetrominos falling everywhere. Every established character from the Puyo Puyo universe has to work with these new, original characters to solve the problem. Everyone is quirky. The localization is fantastic.
Plus, you are essentially getting three puzzle games in one. There’s Puyo Puyo, which is fantastic. You have Tetris, which is always fun. Then, the combination of the two basically feels like a third, original puzzle game that is absolutely worth playing. It is great.
I just want to play Puyo Puyo with friends.