• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

returning to a game you haven't played in a long time...

Kuranghi

Whenever I go back to Phantom Pain I always dive on the ground instead of punching/grabbing someone from behind and its funny every time. Just used to square being grab and circle being punch in MGS since forever, it does make more sense to have dive on face button instead of grab in PP though since you use it way more often, ime anyway.

Toots

Gold Member
It happens to me often when i'm nearing the end of a game.
I tell myself "ok i'm almost finished, lets take some time, maybe play some other game for a bit, and when i'm ready i'll finish it".
When i go back to the game 6 month later, i'm a beginner again but with a final boss save state, just like in the good old days when you bought a second hand snes rpg and the previous owner did not wipe his saves.

Right now i have this very problem with Yakuza 6 ( save state just before the last taxi ride), Day's gone (save state just before the windmill horde clean up), Persona 5 (just before the politician boss), and surely others i forget.

intbal

I would have to say Fallout 3 and Skyrim and Witcher 3.

After I beat the main game in Witcher 3, I stopped playing it for a year. When I finally returned to begin the expansions, it took me 3 or 4 days to fully reclaim all the playing skills required by the game.

After a year long break in the middle of Divinity 2 (Ego Draconis, not Original Sin), I'm completely stuck. I'll have to start that one over from the beginning.

Some games are just easier than others for this.

Rayderism