• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Metro Exodus (Enhanced Edition) is a modern, deeper and more immersive Half-Life 2

Xdrive05

Somehow I had completely slept on this one, and I'm so glad I picked it up in a recent Humble Bundle.

This may be the most immersive FPS I've ever played. How I'm feeling while playing Exodus is similar to how I felt back in 2004 when I first played HL2.

Where I am in the story:
the area where the train was stopped by a bridge, and there are different factions in the surrounding buildings and landmarks, including at least a religious cult, an engineer, some bandits, and others.
A lot of question marks left on the map here for me, so I'm just getting started.

The environments are incredible. The story is interesting and (so far) has a really relatable theme and swift pace to it. The looting and crafting system has enough depth to feel worthwhile and important for survival without feeling like a hassle, and there is a lot of quality of life considerations there (like crafting anywhere with your backpack). And the crafting even kind of feels somewhat believable in the context of this world and these missions. The game rewards you for exploring, and there is gobs of environmental story telling to flesh out this universe in the nooks and crannies of the world (again, like HL2). The weaponry feels great, and the loadout you choose actually matters a lot for your ammo capacity and effectiveness in combat.