• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Growing up with game music

Jeeves

I've always had a weird relationship to the world of music in general, in that I've always felt that the way I appreciate it is fundamentally different from how I see most others enjoying music. Not saying it's better or worse, just different.

I think it's because video games, particularly older ones, were my vector into enjoying listening to music on its own. I played a lot of games as a kid and wasn't much exposed to the radio or what anyone else was listening to, so I gravitated towards what I knew and took to listening to fan-made MIDIs (because the file sizes were small enough to comfortably play/download on dialup) and later, mp3s of fan remixes.

Retro game music was made under a unique set of demands. I'm no expert on the subject so this example is completely ad-libbed and not factually correct but it should get the point across:

Imagine you're a musician with a limited selection of virtual instruments at your disposal, and any song you write can only include six of them. Worse, no more than two of those instruments can sound at any one time in a song, and the instruments themselves have a narrow range. The instruments do not sound good in a vacuum. Under these conditions you're tasked with creating dozens of songs that are meant to be heard over and over for hours on end. In many of these games there's not always a lot to look at, so audio might be one of the foremost elements that the game will use to express itself. Imagine trying to create good music like that. You would have to write it very deliberately, and put thought into the usage and placement of each note. I have tremendous respect for composers who were able to thrive under those kinds of limitations.