• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Final Draft, the film and television industry standard for screenwriting, has an inclusivity analysis tool.

kiiltz

tFh2Mcx.png

This is actually a year old so idk if people are already aware of it. Did a quick search to see if there was already a topic on it but didn't see anything. Interesting, if not unnecessary imo. On one hand I can see it maybe coming in handy for something that has an ensemble cast like Sens8 but mostly I find it really insincere and reduces the idea of diversity to a checklist, which is no different than how Hollywood use to cast token black characters in the 20th century. I also believe that anyone worth their salt as a writer doesn't need such a superficial list to keep track of their characters.

teezzy

Banned
I've been using FInal Draft 8 since like 2010 or so

None of this f'n BS. It works its simple.

Just wait until Sony Vegas starts counting your inclusivity. Then pirate savvy video creators are fucked

Last edited:

godhandiscen

There are millions of whiny 5-year olds on Earth, and I AM THEIR KING.
This is a software process now because it is trying to automate a task that has been performed already for years.

#Phonepunk#

Banned
Thanks for posting this. One reason culture is so bad these days is everyone uses the same handful of “writing tools”.

The Inclusivity Analysis feature will be available on Final Draft 11 and tracks how diverse and inclusive a screenplay is by allowing the user to quickly assign and measure the ethnicity, gender, age, disability or any other definable trait of the characters in the script. In addition, it can help users determine the number of scenes that might pass the Bechdel Test as well as other similar tests. The information is provided in easy to read charts that provide an overview of the screenplay’s inclusivity attributes.